The Accrediting Commission is comprised of ten members. Five members are from HEAC-accredited institutions and are elected by institutions that hold HEAC accreditation status. Five members are appointed by the Commission to represent the public. At least two public members of the Commission must be academics, defined by HEAC as an individual who works full time at an educational institution and who actively teaches, delivers educational content to students and/or engages in educational research related to the institution’s mission.


The following individuals are current members of the Accrediting Commission. Click each Commissioner’s name to view their biography.

Caulyne Barron,
Chief Academic Officer, Dunlap-Stone University
Term expires March 31, 2021
Chair, Executive Committee
Lucien “Skip” Capone*, 
University Counsel, University of North Carolina, Asheville (Retired)
Term expires March 31, 2020
Vice Chair, Executive Committee
Michael Harter*,
President and Chairman of T.H.E. Inc. and the Tulsa Wedding School (Retired)
Term expires March 31, 2021
Treasurer, Executive Committee 
Michael Curd,
Vice-President, Harrison Middleton University
Term expires March 31, 2021
Gordon Drummond,
President, Sessions College for Professional Design
Term expires March 31, 2020
Jack Goetz*,
Lecturer, USC Gould School of Law
Term expires March 31, 2020
Cheryl Hayek,
Special Advisor to the President and Provost Emerita, Grantham University
Term expires March 31, 2020
Traci Lee,
President, Sonoran Desert Institute (SDI)
Term expires March 31, 2022
Wanda Nitsch*,
President, University of St. Augustine for Health Sciences (Retired)
Term expires March 31, 2021
John Sabatini*,
Divisional Vice President at Laureate Global Products and Services (Retired)
Term expires March 31, 2019